Norwalk Attorneys Defending Underage DUI
Experienced DUI Lawyer in Norwalk
Over the past few decades, DUI enforcement and penalties have increased significantly across the entire country. The state of Connecticut takes driving under the influence of alcohol extremely seriously and imposes significant penalties even on first time offenders. A DUI may result in fines, probation, the loss of your license, mandatory alcohol education, or even time spent in jail. In addition, an alcohol related offense like a DUI may have certain collateral consequences, such as the inability to secure certain types of employment or even significant immigration consequences. As a result, it is extremely important for people facing a Connecticut DUI case to retain the services of a Stamford criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
As strict as DUI enforcement is for people who are legally of age to drink, it is even more so for people under 21 years old. For those under 21, you are considered legally intoxicated if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is at .02% or higher. In some cases, a person may reach this limit after drinking a single drink. In addition, Connecticut’s implied consent law holds that anyone who operates a motor vehicle is presumed to have consented to BAC testing. A refusal will result in an automatic license suspension and fine. Subsequent refusals result in stiffer penalties.
Penalties for Under 21 DUI in Connecticut
Connecticut law imposes harsh penalties on DUI offenders. Below is some information about the potential consequences of a 1st, 2nd, or subsequent offense for drivers under 21 convicted of DUI.
- 1st Offense – Up to six months in prison, with a mandatory minimum of 48 hours, or a 6 month suspended sentence with probation and 100 hours of community service. In addition a fine between $500 to $1000 can be imposed, as well as a license suspension of 45 days followed by a year of only driving a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock.
- 2nd Offense – Up to two years in prison, with a mandatory minimum of 120 days, along with probation and 100 hours of community service. A fine of between $1,000 and $4,000 may also be imposed, as well as a license suspension of 45 days or until the driver is 21. Following the license suspension, driving is limited to a vehicle that is equipped with an ignition interlock device, and is only permitted for travel to or from work, school, an alcohol or drug abuse treatment center, or an ignition interlock service center.
- 3rd or Subsequent Offenses – Up to 3 years in prison, with a mandatory minimum of 1 year and probation with 100 hours of community service. The fine imposed can be between $2,000 and $8,000. After a 3rd or subsequent offense, a person’s license will be revoked but may be reinstated after 2 years. If reinstated, the driver must only drive vehicles equipped with an ignition interlock device for as long as he or she drives. After 15 years, the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection Commissioner may lift this requirement for good cause.
Contact a Connecticut Criminal Defense Attorney Today to Schedule a Free Consultation
Attorney Michael R. Corsello has 30 years of experience practicing in criminal defense law, and has represented over 1,000 people facing DUI allegations. As a result, he has the knowledge and skill necessary to bring your case to the best outcome possible. He is dedicated to mitigating any long term consequences that may result from an underage DUI case. Contact the Law Offices of Michael R. Corsello, LLC today to schedule a free consultation.